Back to square one?

Okay, so I’ve been thinking about where I want to go to seminary again….being back in school and all. My wife and I were going to take some time off to pay back some of the school loans from our undergrad work, but I think that we might just go straight on now. Several financial guru’s say school debt is an investment, unlike evil credit card debt. I can see how they come to that conclusion, in addition I’d like my wife and I to have our Master’s degrees before the kiddies start coming along. <br />
<br />
I had been 99% sure that we’d both go the <a href="http://aidan.strateia.org/exit.php?url_id=28&amp;entry_id=55&quot; title="http://www.nes.edu&quot; onmouseover="window.status=’http://www.nes.edu&#8217;;return true;" onmouseout="window.status=”;return true;">Northeastern Seminary</a> however, I’m starting to have doubts. Although they are an excellent seminary and have an excellent program for my wife (Master of Arts in Theological Studies) they don’t have much for me. I me, sure, a standard M.Div, but their Biblical Languages department is almost non-existent and they don’t offer as many Bible electives as I’d like. Plus, NO exegesis courses. <strong>sigh</strong> Plus my parents encouraged me the other night to not just settle for a piece of paper, but to get a degree were I learned what I wanted to learn. I mean, NES is a great school, and my wife may seriously get her degree from there…and I might too. But I don’t know…<br />
<br />
So I was looking at <a href="http://aidan.strateia.org/exit.php?url_id=29&amp;entry_id=55&quot; title="http://www.gordonconwell.edu&quot; onmouseover="window.status=’http://www.gordonconwell.edu&#8217;;return true;" onmouseout="window.status=”;return true;">Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary</a> again and…wow…an excellent school with faculty to match NES, but with alot more Bible and Language electives. They have two degrees that I could see myself fitting into. First the M.Div. which allows for alot of Bible study and the like, and then the Master of Biblical Languages, which is a degree I would simply LOVE. I want that degree badly! I mean, I could take two years and totally drench myself in the original languages as I studied the languages themselves in addition to various books of the Bible via exegesis and there’s even a class on reading the Apostolic Fathers, in the original Koine Greek. So, I’m rather excited about that, however the seminary is located in South Hamilton (near Boston) Mass…which means we’d have to relocate to the Boston area. Which wouldn’t be bad, accept that cost of living is quite high and I really think God wants my wife and I serving at the church we’re currently at. <br />
<br />
Which leaves me with only a few options. First is of course not going to seminary right now…which seems counter productive, but maybe that’s what God wants. Second is going to one of the two other seminaries in the area. Mid-America is only an extension site and I’m hardly impressed with them. Baptist Bible Seminary….I know some great scholar’s who have come from that school. But I’m just not sure I could manage the cultural expectations that they have. Besides, I have the baptist background, I want to expand my horizon’s, not limit them even more. <strong>sigh</strong> So, I don’t know. Pray for me if you happen to have read this.

Leave a Reply

