Leadership…

This is going in personal space because well….it’s personal.<br />
<br />
How does one lead when one is only really considered a "first among equals"? I mean, I’m no dictator. But at the same time I feel like I’m banging my head into the wall at times. Last night we had a youth staff meeting….six months of development and work are going down the drain. We’re going to go back to the way we did things six months ago. The teens aren’t going to gain from it what they have been gaining. We’re going backwards. I’m not sure why the other leaders are so bent on this idea. It might have something to do with the fact that they feel someone "unneeded" when we only have discussion. I can’t get them to realize that talking with teens before hand, introducing themselves to new teens, and chatting with teens and building relationships throughout the night IS ministry. The old senior high leaders want to be SENIOR high leaders, not YOUTH MINISTRY leaders. So…we go back to a less effective way of doing things. Even my attempts at a "Happy medium" were rejected. They were BENT on getting back to a lesson based format…oh, they promised more "interaction" but, I doubt that we’ll see that. Even if we do…how does a different lesson every week fit in with our main purpose on Wednesday nights, which is to help people BELONG??? I don’t know. I’m frustrated. I’m tired. I’m powerless to stop a change that, from all I can see, is going to hinder the maturation process of these teens. I’m out of options. I don’t know what to do. Just sit back and watch things crumble I guess. <br />
<br />
Later.

Leave a Reply

