Emergent Disunity?

So, my wife and I are here having a conversation. That’s a good thing to do in a marriage, or so I’m told. Anyway, a friend of my pointed me to <a href="http://aidan.strateia.org/exit.php?url_id=41&amp;entry_id=73&quot; title="http://www.opensourcetheology.net&quot; onmouseover="window.status=’http://www.opensourcetheology.net&#8217;;return true;" onmouseout="window.status=”;return true;">Open Source Theology</a> (thanks Len!). So, I was looking at things on the site and the like when I asked my wife why she seemed less than enthusiastic regarding this website. I asked her to write a paragraph to sum things up…but she has to go to work. I shall try to do her arguments justice.<br />
<br />
My wife is more interested in reformation (read: Erasmus like reformation) as opposed to splitting the church (read: Martin Luther like reformation). She agrees that the emerging church is good. That it is a positive thing, and that we need to minister to this new generation, well, fairly new. I mean, I’m part of that generation. So, anyway…her thought is if people are starting a bunch of new "emergent churches" that it provides community to those who are part of the emerging culture. That’s good. But what about those people who aren’t part of the emerging culture? How can they have community. I mean, sure they can have community in their "modern" churches, and the younger generation can have community in our "emergent" churches. But how is that unifying the body of Christ. My wife is all for infiltrating the church and changing it from within as opposed to beginning new movements. She’s like Erasmus. I agree with her. <br />
<br />
So, that sums up what our conversation was about. However, the interesting question is…how do we proceed from this point? Obviously modern churches are not going to meet the needs of a postmodern generation. But is sucluding ourselves in our own type of churches the best option?<br /><a href="http://aidan.strateia.org/index.php?/archives/73-guid.html#extended">Continue reading "Emergent Disunity?"</a>

Leave a Reply

