Job: Never Deny God

Well, I did it. I taught on the first three chapters of Job this morning, and it went pretty well. I think I actually found a decent balance between being true to the text and also making a good application to our lives today. I’m very pleased about that. I summarized the first three chapters of Job by saying, "Even if denying God is the only way to get the thing you most desire: DON’T DO IT!" Now, denying God may not be the exact same thing as Job cursing God…but I think they are at least somewhat similar. Denying God may not involve cursing Him, but certainly cursing Him must, in some sense, involve denying Him. Perhaps not, but I think I’m safe in the application I made. Job wants nothing more than to die. He curses the day of his birth and the night of his conception. Later he wishes that he had died when he was born, and still later he requests to just die. Yet, through all of it, he doesn’t deny God. He wants to die, but he is unwilling to do the very thing that, according to his wife in chapter two, could bring about a quick death. This shows a great amount of character. <br />
<br />
Now, my little summarized sentance above is of course an over simplification of the first three chapters. There is alot more going on then what I centered in on. But I think that based on what we’ve been talking about (Faith-Works) it is exactly what the students needed. So, I’m pleased. I’m planning on talking a bit about the righteous suffering next week in Job 4-6 (I may bring in some references from Hebrews, and 1 Peter here), and then finally jump to the end of Job and talk about how God eventually restores him, presumably because Job passed the test. Now, Job is far more complicated then I’m going to make it for the purposes of Sunday School. We’re dealing with complex Hebrew poetry, and as one scholar put it…"Job is the end of any Old Testament scholars career," meaning that it’s the last thing that people get to, and the most difficult. <br />
<br />
Okay, so I’ll stop my rambling now. Basically, Sunday School went well. The teens paid attention, and I think I did justice as a teacher to what Job says while at the same time making a decent application to the teens’ lives.

Leave a Reply

