Sunday School

I wish I could put more time into the youth ministry at Berean. I really do. With having school work to do, plus other administrative tasks for the youth ministry I don’t always have the time to put into lesson prep like I’d like. Which turns out to be okay this week since I decided about 56 minutes ago to change what I was going to teach on, so if I had had a nice 10 hours to prepare a lesson earlier this week it would have basically been a waste. I so want to give the teens in my ministry more! I want them to get the best, and right now they aren’t getting the best from me in SS. They are getting average. Which is okay, but I could do so much more. I need more time! ACK! Always more time! "Three hundred lives of men I’ve walked this world, and now I have no time!" (Gandalf, The Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers, <i>Jackson Version</i>). <br />
<br />
I mean, God blesses my lessons often times, and I’m thankful for that…but I want to give so much more! These kids deserve more than a lesson that is put together on Friday and Saturday nights. I personally think they deserve a Ph.D. (Snyder anyone?) or at least someone with an M.A….but I’m in a good mood, there are times I’d like to hang them all up by their thumbs. They can be frustrating. But the past few weeks have been good. <br />
<br />
See, two weeks ago I did a lesson on Faith-Works out of James and 1 John. If you have no idea what I’m talking about catch me on AIM sometime and I’d be happy to talk to you about it. This went over real well and at the end of my lesson 4-6 teens committed to following God with their lives. It was EXCELLENT! Then last week I talked about Jonah and how he had a difficult time obeying God. I related that to how they would have a hard time obeying God sometimes, but they needed to keep at it. I also talked about how they should repent like the Ninevites (sp?) repented (in sackcloth and ashes, wailing and crying out to God, and fasting…), and how God was merciful, even to terrible people (ie. Nineveh). So, it was good. Not as good as the week before, but still good. This week I was going to talk about Joseph, as kind of the antithesis of Jonah. But instead I think I’m going to yak about Job. Maybe even do two weeks on him (I know, I should be doing lovey dovey stuff about Jesus’ birth at this time of year…but dash it all! These teens don’t need that! Anyway, I stray off topic). So, with that in mind I’m off to work on this lesson.

Leave a Reply

