Battle for Wesnoth

<a href="http://aidan.strateia.org/exit.php?url_id=50&amp;entry_id=93&quot; title="http://www.wesnoth.org&quot; onmouseover="window.status=’http://www.wesnoth.org&#8217;;return true;" onmouseout="window.status=”;return true;">Battle for Wesnoth</a> is quite possibly the best open-source game I have ever seen. The graphics are decent, though not quite up to commercial standards, the game play is great, and the storyline ROCKS. I am thoughly impressed with this game. It even comes with a very easy to use map editor. Of course you have access to the source itself. In addition you can make full campaigns with all the features of the stock campaigns yourself! Try finding that in a commercial product. The only major complaint I have about Wesnoth is that it is a wee bit hard on the easy setting. If the main scenario is made a bit easier I think it’ll be great. <br />
<br />
There is one other complaint…I don’t have the game over vacation here…so I can’t play it. Oh well, I’ll just have fun when I get back. Speaking of games, my wife got me Lords of Magic for Christmas. It’s an oldie, but a goodie. I really like it, though I have to get used to the gameplay again. Also, my wife got the Sims 2 for Christmas…wow, talk about craziness. Your Sims now have life stages (Toddler, Child, Teen, Adult, Elder) and with all new graphics and a cool aspiration system things are REALLY cool. Though if you’ve bothered to read any reviews of the Sims 2 you know all that. Anyway, I’m off. This will probably be my last (or second to last) entry before I head to my grandma’s for New Years. So, Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

