The Apostle’s Creed

I believe in God the Father, Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth
And in Jesus Christ, his only begotten Son, our Lord
Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary
Suffered under Pontius Pilate; was crucified, dead and buried: He descended into hell
The third day he rose again from the dead
He ascended into heaven, and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty
From thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead
I believe in the Holy Ghost
I believe in the holy catholic church: the communion of saints
The forgiveness of sins
The resurrection of the body
And the life everlasting. Amen.

—-

Twelve lines that so perfectly sum up the Christian faith without any extra baggage. Yet we fight and bicker about various things, never apologising to each other, never confessing our sins. Perhaps this thing that I long for, this thing that I read about in Matthew 5-7, and in Romans, and James, and 1John…perhaps it will never come to pass. Perhaps the writers of those books got some bad ‘shrooms on Patmos or some such.

Am I being cynical? Of course I am! But in all seriousness, I wonder sometimes what is up with the church. We can’t ever seem to act like what Jesus said the church is supposed to act like. Now, the church I attend currently gets closer than any other church I’ve attended. But we’re still pretty far off the mark, and I myself admit to being part of the problem. But sometimes I sit up, trying to find ways to fix the problem, and I’m willing to confess to misspoken words and the like. But I need the other party to be willing to humble himself, or herself, and confess as well. I can’t put every problem in the church on my shoulders and say that it’s my fault and I’m sorry.

Regardless, one day Jesus will return to judge those who are living and those who are dead. Perhaps we Christians will find ourselves under some great judgement. Now, I’m not saying we’re going to hell. But is Jesus going to say to the church, “Well done my bride?”Sometimes I wonder if we remember what it is we’re supposed to be doing here on Earth (You know, living at peace with one another and taking care of widows and orphans so that those who don’t know Jesus will see our lifestyles and want Him?).

Then, I wonder if we even care.

