Choice and David Ludwig

This article pretty much sums up what I’ve been thinking regarding this case. David just doesn’t appear to be the type of person to do something like this. I’m not saying he didn’t, anyone can snap. Still though, I’m not the type of person to believe things are unpreventable. Everything we do involves choice. CHOICE! That is the key. David Ludwig had a choice. God certainly did not force him to kill Mr. and Mrs. Borden, and neither did a demon. It was David’s choice alone. If it was indeed he that took their lives, then it was his choice.

Having said that, normally there are signs the preceed such an act, as the article linked above explains. Yet in this case we have none of the normal issues. No violent video games (unless Age of Empires 3 counts), no killing of animals, he wasn’t an arian supremist, he was not bullied or picked on. None of the things that we (the American public) associate with teenage violence are present in his life. Now we can cue the sappy music and say he did it for a love that was denied him. Impassioned by his love and some crazed belief that he was rescuing Kara he took the lives of her parents. Okay, so maybe it’s possible…but…I’m not convinced.

Now, the main thing I’m interested in, as I was in my most recent post, is what do I do in youth ministry to help other teens from suffering a similar breakdown? I mean, up until now there was the thought in the back of my mind that students would exhibit some type of signs…but maybe not. But maybe, just maybe, there were signs. Signs that no one saw. Students often feel alone, who is there to talk to them, to keep them accountable. Well, youth pastors, but youth pastors can’t do the whole job. This whole thing just creates a lot of questions. Foremost among them for me is,

1. Everyone has a choice, why choose this?
2. If one guy choose death (basically), others can choose in the same way, without warning…how does one help those who are teetering on the edge?
3. What are the most effective ways for people to help students in a similar situation?

4 thoughts on “Choice and David Ludwig

  1. Hey buddy, Thanks for the shoutout a while ago. I’ve been super busy, but I got a chance to catch up on reading my blogs tonight. I hope all is well. I hate Windows as much as Steve Jobs does. I got a 15′ Powerbook G4 with OSX.4. It’s unreal.
    Anyway, I’m jealous that you get to stay so close to the Rabbi. I get to see him this weekend, I’m excited!
    Well brotherman, for the sake of unity I won’t say anything about the whole ‘choice’ issue. St. Paul said enough already!
    Blessings.

  2. everyone has choices, but teens are notorious for having lack of impulse control, even to the extent that they quite literally “do not think,” before they act.

    there are signs, and unfortunately they can be difficult to tune into. a very quiet, surly teen or a completely opposite, exuberant teen may be on the brink. what i have seen the most of when things are going to get real ugly are wild changes in mood. one moment huggy, and the next, raging. it’s quite bizarre, actually.

    on my blog i spouted off a bit on this topic, and linked to a previous post about teens called “Radar Lovers.” i am by no means an expert (if there is such a thing), but have worked with hundreds of kids throughout my life, and raised 5.

    you ask very succinct questions. that is the most effective way to help students, and you already have that ability, as is evidenced by your post.

  3. I can’t believe that lawyer guy up above! He claims to want unity, and then snidely makes clear that he feels his interpretation of Paul is superior to yours. He’s nuts!

    He must use that crazy “no choice” argument to rationalize why he’s using an Apple product. I mean, that’s practically sinful!

Leave a Reply

