Random Readings

I’ve been trying to make it a point to read a bit more. So, I thought I’d talk a little about my reading here. On Monday I finished The Jesus Creed. I really enjoyed it. Scot McKnight managed to engage me as a reader and I really got a lot out of the book. I’d recommend it to anyone looking for a book of Christian living or Jesus. Yesterday (Tuesday), I finished Old Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors; it was decent. It’s certainly an introduction. It was more valuable to me as a soon-to-be student at GCTS than as a general student of the Bible. Still, it was worthwhile, and an easy read. Worth it if you’re looking for an introduction to basic original language exegesis (he also provides what appears to be a decent format for using the way he teaches exegesis to develop sermons). Stuart provides plenty of suggestions as to other books that go into greater detail so I’m putting together a list.

Now, on to my “to read” list:

  • Just War Against Terror by Jean Bethke Elshtain. My first impression is…meh. The book was free, and I figured it would be worth reading. But I don’t know if I really have many thoughts on it at the moment.
  • A New Kind of Youth Ministry by Chris Folmsbee, who is an alum of Davis College and current CEO of Sonlife. I’ve heard some mixed reviews about this book, but I always try to grab up anything that deals with youth ministry. Besides, Sonlife seems to be attempting to transition into some kind of missional youth organization, which is interesting to me. I checked it out from the library, so we’ll see what I think of it.

Oh, I also read an essay last night on Galatians from the book From Prophecy to Testament, edited by Chris Evans. Unfortunately I can’t remember who wrote the specific essay I read. 😦

2 thoughts on “Random Readings

  1. Nice selection of books you’ve got going there. I’m trying to pick up my reading pace a bit more too. Let me know what else you’re reading later on.

Leave a Reply

