LibraryThing

LibraryThing is quite possibly the coolest site I’ve come across in awhile (del.icio.us is awesome, but I’ve known about it for quite awhile). With LibraryThing you can keep an electronic catalog of all your books online, accessible from anywhere. As with any true Web2.0 application you can tag your books, view others’ tags for books, view others’ libraries and read reviews that other members have written.

Mandy and I recently made an account, we’ve added around 150 books to our library and its pretty neat. I’ve already discovered several people I already knew on LibraryThing (Art, Denise, I’m looking at you!). I’m a huge fan of books, so this has been intensely excited. The possibilities are pretty cool. Be watching for some widgets coming to my blog from LibraryThing. I’d encourage anyone who has a sizable library or who has been looking for a nice electronic catalog system to explore LibraryThing. The electronic catalog is worth it alone, the social and tagging aspects only sweeten the deal. The only drawback is that you can only store 200 books with a free account. I hesitated to say drawback, because for $25 you can get a lifetime membership that allows you to store an infinite amount of books.

4 thoughts on “LibraryThing

  1. there are actually a lot more sites similar to this around the internet. i like librarything’s layout and user-friendliness but the only down part is we only get to catalog 200 books for free, as you’ve mentioned, and the rest have to be paid a lifetime fee. others like reader2, shelfari, gurulib, allconsuming, delicious library, bookpedia and goodreads are free, though librarything seems to be the best in terms of features.

    http://sulz.daria.be

  2. LibraryThing rocks. I’ve had an account for a year, but haven’t updated it with everything in my collection since I’ve been so busy (as you are aware). However, Diana and I recently decided to kill off most of our library and donate it to the church, since we’re doing the minimalist-living thing (not really, but we’re offloading a lot of the stuff we’ve accumulated over the years).

    Since I only have like 35 books left out of an original 300 or so, I think I’ll add them to LibraryThing and integrate it with my new blog soon.

  3. I’ve avoided LibraryThing et.al. largely because I can’t export the data to Endnote or another bibliographic database that I could then use for writing. For me, the only purpose to have a book database is to use it.

    That… and well… I’ve got over 150 books out the library right now… 200 books would barely cover my ANE. 😉

  4. @ Sulz, yeah there are some other options, but as you pointed out – LibraryThing has the richest feature set.

    @ Q, the name being able to export bibliographic data does limit its usefulness from a paper writing standpoint. However, being as I was primarily looking for a way to catalog all my books (I have many) so I could keep track of them a bit better it suits me well. The bibliographic thing would be nice for seminary. I may have to request that…

    The social aspects on LibraryThing are also pretty cool. My Amazon wish list just keeps growing. I really need to place a decent sized order soon.

Leave a Reply

