Random Readings 13-04-2007

This week I took a break from intense reading. This gave me a chance to play some videogames, mess around with Compiz and XGL and otherwise just kick back. It also gave me a chance to digest Brueggemann’s The Prophetic Imagination. As a result, I don’t have my normal little mini-reviews to give. However, I do have two books I plan to read this coming week.

  • The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer. This is the first of the books suggested on Christdot that I’m reading. My local Christian bookstore apparently hasn’t heard of any of the other titles. I’m really looking forward to this book. The few pages I’ve previewed this week have me very interested. Bonhoeffer has been, in my past, one of those Christians that you hear about, or hear quoted, but never find the time to read.
  • A Sacred Sorrow by Michael Card. Ever since I read The Psalms and the Life of Faith I’ve been extremely interested in the concept of lament. I think that it is one of many things that the church has lost in the modern era. A few years back I never would have imagined reading a book by Michael Card. He was a musician my mother listened to, and I had no idea he wrote books. So, this should be an interesting read.

I think that wraps it up for this week. I’m hoping to find the time to plow through both of these, so I’ll post on them in about seven days – give or take.

Leave a Reply

