Getting Caught Up

Wow, it has been quite the two weeks; we’ve moved to MA, unpacked, hung up some pictures, found a job, gone to church, met some people, and started getting acquainted with the area and the seminary. It has been busy and fun and hectic, thus the lack of updates to the blog. Let me try to get caught up all in one post:

Moving:
We moved up to Gordon-Conwell a little over a week and a half ago. If you are at all interested you can see some pictures of our new apartment and us moving into it here. It was a blast having our families up here helping us move in. We even managed to get out to Bertucci’s on Friday evening for a nice dinner. A pity I was so exhausted that I remember only bits and pieces of the conversation. Family does, eventually, have to go back home and so by Sunday afternoon it was just Mandy and I here. It was very hard for me, but given the appropriate amount of time I’ve managed to get my emotions under control.

The first few days:
The first few days were spent unpacking books and other various items. I managed to buy and fill two five-shelf bookcases, beyond the one five shelf and two three shelf that I already had. When we actually buy our textbooks for the fall I may need to consider purchasing another five shelf bookcase, I’ve no idea where I’d put such a thing, but…

We also had to take care of the standard stuff over the first couple days. We let Campus Safety know about our car, and I’ve still yet to hear a confirmation from them – so I need to try to email someone about that. We also found out, as Mandy (and I) has already blogged, that Geico doesn’t insure in MA. Very disappointing, but we’ll manage.

I also had an interview the Monday after we moved in. It went well.

A Job!
I’ve already blogged about this, so I’ll just say that it’s a blessing and relieves a lot of stress. It’s doubly exciting because it’s a job in ministry, which is what I’ve been praying and hoping for.

Church:
Church on Sunday allowed us the chance to meet a lot of people. We felt quite welcomed at our new church home, which is a very good thing. It’s a nice change of pace. I, unfortunately still don’t remember everyone’s name – but given a few weeks I hope to rectify that. It’s huge to be worrying about knowing people’s names instead of moving, finances, packing, traveling, and a host of other things.

We met a few of the students from the youth ministry and had a blast hanging out with them on Sunday. A couple of them love Final Fantasy X, so Mandy has been inspired to pick up her forgotten game and continue playing. I had the chance to just relax with one of the guys while he attempted to hit me with a milk bottle (don’t ask). All in all, a good time.

Just last night (Tuesday) we hung out with the young adult group at a cook-out. It was a lot of fun, and between finding someone who is majoring at Gordon College in Computer Science and Biblical Studies, with a concentration in Biblical Languages(!) and eating some great burgers I’d say the night was worthwhile. Add to that some weird game that I can only describe as finger chess and lots of laughter and it was well worth going.

Where we go from here:
Mandy and I are still getting acquainted with the area. We manged to go to Cherry Farm Creamery to get some Ice Cream on Saturday, at the behest of Wezlo, who wanted to live vicariously through us. I’m still trying to get all the information I need on the youth ministry, how things are done, and what’s going on – so that has been an adventure.

I miss my friends from Binghamton quite a bit, and my family as well. Living in the midst of an area where we literally know no one is pretty difficult. Not something I would recommend to someone lightly. But we’re both looking forward to classes starting this fall. Mandy has Akkadian, and I’m looking forward to History of Liturgy, as well as some language and exegesis courses that we’ll both be in. Very cool.

Reading:
One final thought – I’ve finished Chris Wright’s Knowing Jesus through the Old Testament. It was really quite an interesting book, and I’d like to read some more of what he’s written. I wish that this book had some citations, it would have made it that much more enjoyable. But, alas! nothing is exactly how I would like. Though, the book is published by IVP Academic, so maybe Jim West was right. I don’t know what I’ll be reading next, but hopefully I’ll get back into the swing of updating my blog and post what I’ve decided to read, and possibly some more thoughts on Wright in a few days.

5 thoughts on “Getting Caught Up

Leave a Reply

