Random Readings 20-08-2007

Normally I don’t post a Random Readings post so soon after another one. But I got some of my textbooks today, and ordered others. I’m giddy with excitement. I’m also a bit nervous about the amount of reading I have to do. It’s not that I doubt my ability to do it, but I’m anxious to get started on it. So I have two books I hope to finish over the next three days, and then more books should have arrived which I hope to finish over the weekend before the big shipment arrives from Amazon. I’m not sure I’ll keep up with my Random Readings posts now that my reading for the semester is about to start – we’ll have to see how things pan out.

One Step Closer: Why U2 matters to those seeking God. In a word, meh. Basically, when the author is relating things that Bono or the Edge have said, or when he is talking about some of their tours and music the book is quite good, and even attains to being interesting. However, when Scharen is simply expounding his thoughts on the band or waxing eloquent about how they are such a great Christian example he comes off as a crazed fan. I’m not saying he is such a fan, simply that he comes off that way. I would, of course, consider myself a U2 fan – just not one of the crazed variety.

There is one other thing I have to say about the book, and I have to admit that it isn’t a positive observation. When I’m reading a book about Bono I expect there to be words that some would find objectionable. I do not expect the middle two letters of those words to magically become asterisks. There is nothing like read, “and Bono said, ‘That’s just f**ked up,'” I mean, it just looks odd. I understand that some Christians are offended by the language Bono uses. However, Scharen says the book isn’t for Christians, but for those who follow U2 but don’t claim to follow Jesus. Perhaps it was the publisher who added the little asterisks. Nevertheless I think it’s a waste of time and detracts from one of the points of the book (that U2 isn’t an evil band).

Coming Soon:

  • Okay, so there may not be anything coming soon. I had intended to read the following, but am now shifting my reading to textbooks. We’ll have to wait and see what happens. In the mean time, check out David Opderbeck’s excellent review of the book. I’ve enjoyed David’s blog for sometime, and he always gives fair reviews of things, even when he disagrees with parts of what they say.
  • Rethinking Christ and Culture by Craig Carter. Basically Carter wants to reexamine (and ultimately critique) Neibuhr’s Christ and Culture. It should be an interesting read, and after David’s review I’m even more interested in reading it.
2 thoughts on “Random Readings 20-08-2007

  1. You wrote: “Perhaps it was the publisher who added the little asterisks.”

    Indeed, that was the case. What is “meh”? Perhaps I am a crazed fan–I think they are the most important rock band playing.

    Thanks for reading.

    Peace,

    Chris Scharen

  2. Wow – blogs amaze me. Or perhaps the internet. An author finds my blog? Fantastic. Sorry that it’s not the most positive review.

    Meh is an expression of neutrality, at least in this context.

    It is nice to know, however, that it was the publisher who added the asterisks, and not a crazed fan. 😉

Leave a Reply

