Q goes round and round

The Biblioblogosphere has been abuzz over the past few days with discussion on Q. I don’t pretend to be anything near an expert on studies in the Synoptic traditions. I’ve spent far too much time looking at the primordial history in Genesis. But, regardless, it is well worth your time to take a look at Mark Goodacre’s thoughts.

Specifically I find his appeal to Isaiah 11 in reference to Luke’s genealogy to be extremely fascinating. The idea that Luke is reaching back to certain sections of the Hebrew Bible to make his argument is one that I’ve been pondering recently. I’ve been working on 1 Samuel 2.22-26, and there is an interesting similarity in the language used of Samuel in verse 26, and the language used of Jesus in Luke 2.40. Since I’ve already been thinking in this direction recently, it’s not too difficult to see where the Isaiah connection comes in. I’m curious if anything else has been written on Luke’s use of the Hebrew Bible. As I’ve said, I’m no expert on the synoptics (not that I’m an expert in anything yet, but I’m a lot further from being an expert on the synoptics than a few other areas). I’ve heard and read a bit on Matthew’s use of the prophets, most recently on Art’s blog. However, I’ve not seen much on a similar discussion relating to Luke. It’s entirely possible that I’ve just missed the discussion – but I would be interested in any resources towards which someone might point me.

One thought on “Q goes round and round

  1. Darrell Bock’s two volume commentary on Luke is a good place to start. He interacts both with Luke’s use of the OT and the Jewish halakah.

    Carson and Beale are just about to release a Dictionary of the New Testament’s Use of the Old from Baker Academic. Poa and Schnabel (from TEDS) do the section on Luke.

    Michael Fuller’s book The Restoration of Israel : Israel’s Re-gathering and the Fate of the Nations in Early Jewish Literature and Luke-Acts is also interesting, especially after reading Wright.

    Dan Burns also has an interesting monograph entitled Evoking Israel’s History in Acts 7:2-53 and 13:16-41: The Hermeneutics of Luke’s Retelling the Story of God’s People.

    Rebecca Denova connects the prophets with the author of Luke-Acts in The Things Accomplished Among Us: Prophetic Tradition in the Structural Pattern of Luke-Acts.

    Also, Fred VonKamecke connects Torah and prophets with Luke in The Intertextual Connection of the Pentateuch, Major Prophets, and the Proclamation of the Gospel in Luke 4:16-30.

    Those might be some good starting off points. I did a paper on the Magnificat in my Gospel’s class and those were some of the sources I used.

Leave a Reply

