An Update on the 30 Hour Famine

A few weeks ago I made a post about the 30 Hour Famine and some of the reasons students in my youth ministry planned on coming, or not coming, to it. Many of you responded with a variety of thoughts and suggestions on how to proceed. The overwhelming majority suggested that I not cancel the famine. As a result of the encouragement and advice I received here, we’re still doing the famine.

A variety of things have happened over the past several weeks. Interestingly enough, most of the students who wanted it to be all about fun have decided not to participate this year. I didn’t encourage them not to participate. Apparently last year wasn’t as exciting as they had hoped, and so they don’t want to risk this year being lame as well. At least, that’s my understanding at present. With a couple of the students I think there are some other issues that I want to track down, but as a generalization the above works. As a result of this, most of those attending are actually interested in more than just having a good time. With that in mind, and because it’s going to be a fairly small group this year, we are going to run a low-key event. We’ll spend some time in prayer every two hours, so that we have a general rhythm to the event. Beyond that, I want the event to feel more like spending the weekend at a friend’s house. Intimate, fun, but not exactly a huge party. I’d be open to suggestions and ideas, though I’ve pretty much put together the itinerary already.

Ultimately I hope this weekend turns out to be a time where we can get to know each other better, have some fun, pray for one another, for the children that our church sponsors in Haiti, for children around the world, and hopefully connect with Jesus. We’ll see how it goes, and next Sunday or Monday I’ll make a final update.

Leave a Reply

