What’s in a personality?

I’m taking Spiritual Formation for Ministry this semester. One of the assignments for the course is to take the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. Mandy has been dying for me to take the MBTI since I brought it home. I decided to take it tonight. I had taken the MBTI when I was a freshman in college. At that point I scored as an ESFJ – Extroverted Sensing Feeling Judging type.

I figured, given some of my experiences since my freshman year of college, that I would be different now. I was correct. After completing the instrument this evening I scored as an ENTJ – Extroverted iNtuitive Thinking Judging type. Most interestingly I have switched from sensing to intuitive, and from feeling to thinking. This doesn’t surprise me too much, but I do find it interesting. Although I could never see myself as a corporate executive (the stereotypical career for ENTJs), I do see where I line up very well with the strengths and weaknesses of this type.

I also found something else that I find extremely interesting. You will, of course, remember that I have been wondering about my future, whether I should get a PhD, whether I am truly called, long term, to be a youth pastor, etc. So, what is the first thing that I do after reading the standard portrait for the ENTJ? I look at careers for my old type, ESFJ. Sure enough! One of the careers is “Clergy or other religious work.” Fascinating. So, I click over to the careers for my new type. Guess what! No clergy. But guess what is on the list? That’s right:

University Professors

Now, I’m not planning on basing things on a personality test. There are all kinds of warnings, all over the test itself, and all the various websites, about making rash decisions based on a personality type. Nevertheless, I do find this extremely interesting.

One thought on “What’s in a personality?

  1. Yeah, don’t base your life soley on that… I’ve taken in three times, scored as an INTJ each time, just like Stewie Griffin. And yet, the clergy route seems to be working for me, at least, thus far.

Leave a Reply

