Greek Book Recommendations?

As I mentioned in a recent post I am taking Intermediate Greek in a summer module. The module starts in the middle of May. As with all classes there are a variety of required texts (see below). However, the syllabus from previous years has the ominous warning, “Students are expected to consult works beyond the required textbooks in the completion of assignments.” I’ve no reason to believe that this expectation will change this year. As I result, I’m putting out a call for recommendations on books beyond the required texts for the course that I might want to have on hand. Some I may buy, but I really want to get an idea of what I should be looking for in the reference section of the library.

Required Texts:
NA27 or UBS4
BDAG
Lexical Aids for Students of New Testament Greek by Metzger
Idioms of the Greek New Testament by Porter
A Grammatical Analysis of the Greek New Testament
by Zerwick and Grosvener
Greek Grammar: Beyond the Basics by Wallace

Those are the required texts. They aren’t too horribly priced, but BDAG made me gasp the first time I saw the (for me) very high figure. Still, I’ll need that book in more than just this class, so it’s worth it. Beyond these, any recommendations regarding other works on Greek syntax, grammar, morphology, or what have you?

6 thoughts on “Greek Book Recommendations?

  1. I would get the NA27 Wide Margin edition. I bought it at the beginning of the fall semester and LOVE it. It has the same pagination of the original NA27, but adds a lot of room for notes. I don’t believe that it costs much more than the normal NA27.

    I bought BDAG at a cheap price on eBay (like $40), so I would encourage you to go that route.

    I’d also encourage you to get a copy of the LXX (if you don’t already have one on your comp’s biblical software) and the 3rd edition of Michael Holme’s Apostolic Fathers which includes the Greek text on the left page and his English translation on the right page. These helped me get used to reading Greek a lot better because I wasn’t used to reading the OT in Greek or the Church Father’s in Greek (most times when you translate a few words in the NT, you know what the rest of the verse is going to say based on your English reading).

    Wallace is really good (and he’s a Mac man and gives props to Accordance throughout the book!).

    Besides that, I don’t have any other recommendations. I didn’t go too over and above in Greek like I did in Hebrew, Aramaic, Akkadian, and Ugaritic.

  2. if you’re required to get Zerwick’s Grammatical Analysis, I’d suggest getting his grammar, Biblical Greek, too. Both Wallace and Porter speak very highly of it and I’ve loved it. Its short and sweet.

  3. Hey Calvin,
    Just so you know, you probably won’t use most of the “required” books. The course, at least when I took it, focuses heavily on Wallace, and BDAG will be your major resource. If you have Mathewson, I believe he uses the UBS text. The Metzger book will only be used for vocab, and you can get the vocab lists from many sources. Each of the above resources are very good, and might be worth the purchase. But if you want to save some cash, I would just buy a Greek NT (the wide margins are nice…) and Wallace, and use the library for the other resources. (Plus, if you are going into ANE studies, most likely you won’t use those texts very often.)

  4. @All – Thanks for the recommendations. I’ll take a look at Zerwick’s grammar. I have Brenton’s LXX, which I picked up at a CBD booksale. Very cool. I’ll have to check half.com for BDAG.

    @Ian – Thanks for the heads up on the required books. I think it is Mathewson teaching the course. I may still pick the books up, so I have them on hand for the future…the perhaps not Metzger. I’m definitely going into Hebrew Bible, so I may not have a great need for a lot of Greek texts beyond looking at the LXX. But, I’d still like to have at least some resources.

  5. I would echo the suggestion to get an LXX. I would get Trenchard’s vocabulary over Metzger’s Lexical Aids. Trenchard is great.

    When you are finished, or if you have time during the session, I would highly recommend getting either the Koine Greek Reader or the Patristic Greek Reader. These will push your Greek skills better than reading out of the NT alone.

Leave a Reply

