Summer Waning

Summer always flies by. This might be an indication of a too programmed ministry. It’s also possible that it’s just the nature of good times to go by quickly. More than likely, it’s a combination of the two. In either case, summer is at a close. In my current context we’ve had our final summer youth events, pulled off Youth Sunday, and finished with our Mission Shareholders Banquet. Today my interns left.

It’s always a tough time of year. These individuals, who I have invested into and who have invested into our ministry go back home and prepare for another semester of learning in a different context. Certainly the interns we hire impact our students, and we impact them. Sometimes I really wish the internships didn’t end at the end of the summer, because with another few months, the benefit to interns would be even greater than it already is. Of course, at other times I want to throttle interns, so.

In a couple days I leave for vacation, and I’m very much looking forward to getting away and not having responsibilities staring me in the face. Mandy and I will get to see some friends we haven’t seen in a while, and spend some time with the greatest people on the planet. I’ll probably read a fair amount (Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice on the fiction side, and Schillebickx’ Christ the Sacrament of the Encounter with God on the non-fiction side. Of course, if I can convince Mandy to let me grab this and this on Kindle, I’ll plow through some more Andrew Root), hang with friends and otherwise relax.

In a couple weeks school starts, and that means our first Youth Advisor training, our back-to-school parent meeting, and the kickoff of our Midweek program for the year–made that much better this year because some of our student leaders have suggested some changes that are going to make it awesome. But it’s still a time of transition. Summer wans and I find myself planning for the Autumn. The office is quieter. There’s a feeling of preparation, waiting.

I like it. But in some ways it’s almost as tiring as the activity of summer.

Leave a Reply

